Maricopa County Assessor

**Eddie Cook** 

COUNTY ASSESSOR'S OFFICE

# 2025 PERSONAL EXEMPTION APPLICATION

## PLEASE CHECK ONE:

WIDOWED TOTALLY DISABLED DISABLED VETERAN (based on %)

**Purpose:** A tax exemption up to \$4,748 reduces the Assessed Limited Property Value (LPV). This <u>reduction</u> may lower your tax bills or, in some cases, eliminate them all together if the assessed value is lower than the exemption amount. If the applicant meets all requirements and the County Assessor approves the application, the exemption amount is first applied to real property, then unsecured mobile home and/or vehicle registration.

### Application deadline is February 28, or September 1 with an Exemption Deadline Waiver. See Page 2 for <u>required</u> supporting documentation and submission instructions.

| Applicant Name:                                                                          |       | Application Date: |      |  |  |
|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|-------|-------------------|------|--|--|
| Mailing Address:                                                                         | City: | State:            | Zip: |  |  |
| To update the Assessor Records with the above mailing address, please check here: $\Box$ |       |                   |      |  |  |
|                                                                                          | Aail: | Self Self         |      |  |  |

1. Fill out the table. The total combined assessed LPV limit is **\$31,347** for applicant's portion of ownership. Single owner exemption is applied to 100% of LPV. If applicant is a co-owner, exemption is applied to 50% of LPV.

| List all properties owned in AZ. (Parcel/Account ID) | Location Address | County |
|------------------------------------------------------|------------------|--------|
|                                                      |                  |        |
|                                                      |                  |        |

I confirm I am an Arizona resident: Yes No
 Provide copy of: Proof of residency (Driver's license, state ID or voter card)

3. I confirm income from all people living in the home does not exceed the statutory limit (check one). Income **excludes** Social Security and Veterans disability payments.

There are no children under age 18 living with me in my residence and that my income from all sources, together with the income of all sources of all adult children residing with me in the previous calendar year, did not exceed the statutory limit of: \$38,843.

There are medically or physically disabled children, or children under age 18, living with me in my residence; and that my income from all sources, together with the income from all sources of all children residing with me in the previous calendar year, did not exceed the statutory limit of: **\$46,600**.

- I confirm myself and/or a household member are required to file Tax Returns for 2024. ☐ Yes ☐ No
  ☐ Submit copies of: First 2 pages of Arizona Tax Return Form 140, including any Nontaxable strike benefits, for all household members for 2024, if applicable.
- 5. I am applying on or after March 1: Yes, **submit** an Exemption Deadline Waiver with application.

Under penalty of perjury, I hereby certify that all the information contained in this application form and supporting documentation are true and correct. I understand that I am required to review my status annually and notify the Assessor in writing of any event/change (disability percentage change, marital status, etc.)

Signature \_

Date\_



## 2025 PERSONAL EXEMPTION APPLICATION

## Supporting documentation is <u>required</u> for the County Assessor to review your application.

- > **<u>Widowed Exemption</u>**: Provide a copy of spouse's death certificate.
- Totally Disabled Exemption: Submit an AZ Department of Revenue Certificate of Disability (DOR82514B) completed, stamped, and signed by a competent medical authority. If no stamp can be obtained, please provide a receipt from the provider, a note on the provider's office letterhead, or a prescription form issued by the provider. A disability letter issued from the Department of Veterans Affairs in Arizona will also be accepted in lieu of a stamp.
- Disabled Veteran Exemption: Provide a copy from Department of Veterans Affairs showing percentage of disability. Must have had an Honorable Discharge to qualify. A copy of your Military DD214 may be requested by the Assessor's Office to verify qualification. (Veteran exemption amount is multiplied by the percentage of disability and applied to the percentage of ownership)

#### Please provide copies (not originals) of documentation with your application. Please black out your social security number and account numbers to protect your identity.

Return your completed application with supporting documents to our office (available options):

File Online: Visit the Assessor Website at mcassessor.maricopa.gov

Email: PE.SVP@Maricopa.gov

#### Mail or drop off in person:

Attn: PE Maricopa County Assessor 301 W Jefferson St Phoenix, AZ 85003

Fax: 602-372-8900

Please call for alternative solutions for filing if there are additional hardships.

### **GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS**

Questions 3 and 4. Required income documentation:

- Filed Tax Returns: Submit copies of first two pages of ALL household members Arizona Tax Returns Form 140 for the previous year. If needed, you may contact Arizona Department of Revenue Copy Desk at 602-716-7104.
- Nontaxable strike benefits may be on a 1099 Misc.